top of page
Svein Finnerud Trio 1970 fotograf ukjent

Svein Finnerud Trio – Preachers

The Unreleased Works 1969-1980 

Catalogue number: PSPCD702

Release date: May, 2007

Svein Finnerud Trio Preachers is the first CD in a series of unreleased recordings of Norwegian jazz, soul and avantgarde music from the Norwegian Broadcasting Bureau archives (NRK). It’s no coincidence that Svein Finnerud Trio is the first band to be released; the trio have achieved a cult following amongst jazz musicians in Norway and are regarded as one of the most controversial and important avantgarde groups from Scandinavia. 

The trio was formed Autumn 1967 with Svein Finnerud on keys, Bjørnar Andresen on bass and Espen Rud on drums. Early on they developed their unique sound: The more classically trained Finnerud`s gentle lyricism on the keys contrasted by Andresen`s more self thought approach, sitting with the bass hitting the strings hard, all with Rud´s hard polyrhythms as backdrop. 

From early on the trio wanted to break the boundaries of the jazz genre and went from a Paul Bley-like-sound into serialism, musique concréte, spiritual jazz, and experimented early on with an electrical sound. They were closely connected to the avantgarde centres Munch Museum and Henie Onstad Kunstsenter, where they collaborated with poets, dancers and visual artists in some of the first happenings in Norway. Their legendary SAMKLANG concerts where the Finnerud Trio and the Jan Garbarek Quartet turned into a septet, found them using ergo meter cycles and lawn lowers as percussion, and dropping 3000 peas over the audience while dressed up in voodoo costumes on stage. 


This release follows the trio’s work from 1969 to 1980 done in different sessions in the NRK studios. The selection is done by Svein Finneruds son Bendik Finnerud and Lars Mørch Finborud. The CD contains 8 formerly unreleased recordings and five unreleased compositions. Also represented is an 11 minute long version of the classic jazz groover Plastic Sun by Bjørnar Andresen, recorded for a TV show in 1970 with 5 percussionists. Another gem is the brilliant folk jazz groover Delta where Norwegian folk music meets jazz in an unreleased radio recording.


Featured guest musicians/poets included on the CD are: Terje Rypdal, Calle Neumann, Jon Christensen, Katja Medbøe and Trond Botnen.

The CD also contains a 30 minute long interview with Svein Finnerud from 1969, conducted by Erling Wicklund.


A 12-page booklet with never before seen photos and liner notes is also included.


All audio has been remastered by Audun Strype. 



1. Ballade

2. Hard låt

3. Olga

4. Odysee

5. Delta

6. Plastic Sun

7. Ansjosen

8. Haiku-dikt

*Bonus MP3 file: Svein Finnerud interviewed by Erling Wicklund, 1969


bottom of page