top of page

Kiruna – Tarasaurus

Catalogue number: PSPCD706/PSPLP706

Release date: October, 2007 

Kiruna consists of three prominent figures on the Norwegian music scene; Kåre Chr. Vestrheim (keys), Erland Dahlen(drums) and Thomas Tofte (bass).


After their critically acclaimed debut Irun (Tuba Records, 2003) people thought Kiruna dissolved when other projects with Madrugada and Xploding Plastix, and producing for Jaga Jazzist, Marit Larsen, Hanne Hukkelberg, Shining and Heroes and Zeros became largely successful. But in free moments, Kiruna booked different studios and recorded an enormous amount of new material. 


While Irun was recorded on a mini-disc player in a barn deep in the woods, Tarasarus was made in large studios such as Rainbow and Propeller to develop and expand the bands sound. The line-up was also expanded; ex.Gluecifer guitarist Rolf Yngve Uggen took part on one session and Xploding Plastix members Hallvard Wennersberg Hagen and Jens Petter Nilsen added electronics on another one.


Tarasarus carries the mindset of the music scene of the 60`s and 70`s into 2007. Experiencing Kiruna`s music and live performances you can see and hear the inspirations from Miles Davis Bitches Brew and Dark Magus records, while at the same time the rock groove draws your attention to Black Sabbath and Soft Machine. Another inspiration one can hear is the improvisation approach taken from the art movements Fluxus and Nouveau Realisme`s musicians and artists like John Cage and Stockhausen. The band walk into the studio without any set plan and develop musical ideas through free improvisation. The only guideline is their musical insight and freedom with their instruments. 


The result is Tarasarus, one of the most honest albums made in Norway after the cold war, certified to contain no compromises. The genre can be described as free, psychedelic, noise-rock.


Tracklist CD version:

1. Preglow    

2. April 19    

3. Black Widow    

4. Winterkinder    

5. Raldo`s Autostrada   

6. Sirens Of A Lost City, Part I    

7. Sirens Of A Lost City, Part II   

8. The Underworld   

9. Afterglow 

Tracklist LP version:

A1. Preglow    

A2. April 19    

B3. Black Widow    

B4. Winterkinder    

B5. Raldo`s Autostrada   

C6. Sirens Of A Lost City, Part I    

C7. Sirens Of A Lost City, Part II   

C8. San Francisco Car Chase 

D9. The Underworld   

D10. Afterglow 

bottom of page